Welcome to my website. Hopefully, these pages will reveal something of me as an author: what excites, offends and amuses me, particularly my motivation to write and my choice of subject matter.   ....although, if I'm honest, that's still a journey of discovery for me!

For starters, I care about injustice, inequality, discrimination and how greed, ignorance and indifference have skewed the political landscape - putting power in the hands of  manifestly the wrong people - and are destroying the environment and  the future of all creatures on our planet. 

My Novels

I have published the following volumes in the Robin Gibson series.  I hope you try them and enjoy the read.  I plan several more titles and am currently working on volume 5.

All titles are available as a paperback from Amazon, Waterstones, Foyles, etc. and Kindle versions are available from Amazon.  To visit my page at Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com click on the highlighted text. A similar page exists at other Amazon country sites. 

Alternatively, check out the details on the publishers website by clicking on the cover images below.  

Some Kind Of Innocence  

Robin Gibson volume 1 

(first published 2016)

Approaching adulthood, the life before him is a blanker canvas than Robin Gibson realises. As his preconceptions fall, he discovers love and learns what it means to be gay in England at the end of the sixties, embracing a lifestyle at variance with all he has known.

The first in a series, it evokes a time before digital technology and social media, when prejudice was common and certain liberties - like the freedom to love - couldn’t be taken for granted. 


Some Kind Of Happiness

Robin Gibson volume 2

(first published 2016)

Now twenty-four, the future looks promising for Robin Gibson, until doubts intrude and events challenge his certainties. Not yet the time when a gay lifestyle can be pursued with impunity, he faces a series of upheavals that rock his world.

Set in the mid ’70s, the second novel in Nigel Austin’s Robin Gibson series captures the promise and the disappointment of the decade, as reflected in the finely observed characters it portrays.


Some Kind Of Perfection

Robin Gibson volume 3

(first published 2017)

At twenty-nine and embarking with optimism upon another new chapter in his life, Robin Gibson will again face circumstances that conspire to throw him off his charted course. When change comes, it is seismic in nature, forcing unprecedented self-examination and requiring his whole world to adjust to a new set of conventions.

Almost on the cusp of the ‘80s, the backdrop to the third volume of Robin’s story is a period of changing attitudes towards homosexuality, not least among gays themselves. Despite the prevailing social, industrial and political turmoil, it’s a time of hope and expectation that is also reflected in the lives of the main protagonists.


Some Kind Of Gratitude

Robin Gibson volume 4

(first published 2019)

Now settled into the long term relationship that began in such unorthodox fashion, Robin Gibson can look forward to a future based on mutual interests and shared goals with his soul-mate, for the first time in his life. He couldn’t imagine how complex and demanding that future was about to become.

It is a time when perceptions of homosexuality are challenged by the advent of a little understood but devastating disease. As Robin’s own experience reveals, ordinary lives are far from immune to its effect.